Stubblog


Things I Have Learned Delivering LibDem Leaflets
April 18, 2010, 5:21 pm
Filed under: politics

For the past 6 months or so I have been delivering leaflets for the local Liberal Democrat party, and as you might imagine, the number of leaflets has increased recently, anyone would think there was an election on.

  • Some people have driveways that are far too long
  • Some people have too many steps.
  • It’s a great time for listening to audio books, I like SciFi myself, perhaps a little Cory Docterow?, or Kim Stanley Robinson. Red Mars is an epic story and I can’t wait to listen to the next 2.
  • Always open the inner letterbox flap by inserting you hand palm up, if you don’t, you might end up scratching your knuckles.
  • Don’t ben too worried about dogs, unless they’re waiting for you on the other side of the letterbox you’ll have plenty of time to make your getaway.
  • Marks and Spencer carrier bags are not strong enough, you’ll be lucky to get a half a round out of it before one of the handles goes. Blackburn Rovers store bags survive a few rounds.
  • Keep your back straight while walking, don’t slouch.
  • Make sure the leaflets go the whole way through, don’t leave them sticking out. My Paperboy training came in really useful here.
  • Push other leaflets through too.
  • Don’t be tempted to remove opposition leaflets if they’re poking out.
  • Don’t drop your elastic bands.
  • Take a drink.
  • Don’t try and teach your son to ride his bike at the same time, you’ll get nowhere.

Do you have any tips? Any advice for fellow leafleteers?

9 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I am a veteran dropper in the United States and I love your list. I mostly do urban areas and the hardest thing for me here in Boston is the basement apartment with a separate mail slot. This usually means you have to go up stairs to the main unit(s) and then down for the basement. I generally use a canvas carry bag.

Comment by mhasegawa

I’ve taken to splitting the leaflets up and putting most in a rucksack, and carrying a spare plastic bag … I went through 2 tonight.

Comment by Stuart Grimshaw

I do hope you’re not the person who’s been stuffing Paul Scriven’s election leaflets through our letterbox twice a week for the past two months!

Comment by Roger B.

No, that’s not me, I deliver in High Green, and it’s all local council stuff.

Comment by Stuart Grimshaw

I imagine that post set to the ‘Sunscreen’ music for some reason :)

Comment by Otto-Mate

Lib Dem Image does a brilliant jute shoulder bag http://www.libdemimage.co.uk/product.php?product=LDI%20006

Perfect for holding leaflets in while you’re delivering and very durable.

Comment by Richard Gadsden

That’s actually a pretty sweet bag, any idea what size it is? Wondering if it’d fit a 15″ Macbook in it?

Comment by Stuart Grimshaw

This is a topic that’s close to my heart… Many thanks! Exactly where are your contact details though?

Comment by college fashion blog sites

Nice blog. Check this out Press Release Service.

Comment by Joeblank




Leave a Reply

